Drugs & Alcohol
- Public Records Center
- Abandoned Property Auctions
- Active Shooter Checklist
- Bicycle Laws
- Law Enforcement Links
- Crime Map (cityprotect.com)
- FDLE Sexual Offender Search
- FTC Complaint Assistant
- 10 Things You Can Do To Avoid Fraud
- FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3)
- University Public Safety Partners
- Active Trespass Warnings
- Purchase Florida Traffic Crash Report
- Football Game Day Information
Test your DUI IQ. See how many you get right.
1. Which contains more alcohol a. a 12 ounce bottle of beer b. 1 1/2 ounce shot of whiskey c. 4 ounce glass of wine
2. About _____ out of every five Americans will be involved in an alcohol-related crash at some time in their lives.
3. Alcohol accounts for about (1/3, 1/2, 2/3) of all auto fatalities in the United States.
4. There is an alcohol related auto injury about every (4-sec, 33-sec, 2-min.).
5. About (5%, 16%, 24%) of 15-20 year olds killed in traffic crashes had a blood alcohol content of .10 or higher.
6. True or False. Deaths from alcohol related auto accidents have steadily increased over the past 10 years.
7. The probability of a crash begins to increase significantly at (.05, .08, and .10) blood alcohol content and climbs rapidly after (.08, .10, and .15) blood alcohol level.
8. The legal limit for blood alcohol content in Florida is (.05, .08, and .10).
9. The cost associated with a DUI arrest has been estimated to be ($2,500, $6,800, and $15,000).
10. As a person consumes more alcohol, his/her self confidence (increases, decreases) while his/her physical ability (increases, decreases).
11. How much does the best drunk driving insurance cost ($1,000/year, $1,500/year, 25 cents).
1. Actually all of the listed drinks have approximately equal amounts of alcohol.
2. About 2 out of every 5 will be involved in an alcohol related accident.
3. Alcohol accounts for about one half of all auto fatalities.
4. There is an injury due to alcohol related auto accident every 33 seconds
5. About 24% of 15-20 year olds killed in traffic accidents had a blood alcohol level of .10 or higher
6. False. Due to the work of organizations such as Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD) in bringing the magnitude of the problem, Fatalities have actually decreased from 25,000 to 17,500 people a year. Still a tremendous waste.
7. The probability of a crash rises significantly at .05% which is below the legal limit and climbs rapidly after .08 blood alcohol level.
8. The legal limit in Florida is .08
9. A DUI can cost upwards to $15,000. This includes fines, license restoration, lawyers fees and high risk insurance for the next three years.
10. As a person consumes more alcohol, his/her belief in their abilities increases at the same time their actual physical abilities decrease is a deadly combination.
11. The best drunk driving insurance is the quarter that it will cost you to call a friend, parent or a cab. Pretty cheap insurance considering the alternative is a real risk of brain damage, spinal cord injury or death. Arranging for a designated driver is another way that has worked to reduce DUI deaths.
How did you do? Remember the best ways to avoid the risk is to limit your consumption, participate in a designated driver program and never drink and drive!
Increased public attention to driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) has resulted in tougher penalties for drivers in Florida. The following information is provided to help explain the law in Florida and provided information for the public to make informed decisions about drinking and driving.
Alchohol Levels And Presumed Impairment
Blood alcohol level is a measure of the amount of alcohol a person has in the bloodstream. Breath alcohol level is a measure of the amount of alcohol vapor a person has in their breath. Blood and breath alcohol levels have become a standard indicator of intoxication. It is difficult to prove that a person’s driving ability is impaired without the definition by law of a blood or breath alcohol level. Therefore, the interpretation of evidence in cases of driving under the influence of alcohol is supported by the legal definition of a 0.08 or more blood or breath alcohol level.
Blood alcohol is measured in terms of weight of alcohol compared to volume of blood. A 0.08 blood alcohol level indicates 0.08 grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood. A 0.08 breath alcohol level indicates 0.08 grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath. According to the National Highway Safety Traffic Administration, extensive research shows that alcohol impairs driving-related tasks such as divided attention, comprehension, reaction time, and coordination. As alcohol levels increase, performance decreases; there is no minimum threshold for alcohol effects. Some performance degradation is observed at any measurable alcohol level.
Under Florida law, a blood or breath alcohol level of 0.08 is prima facie evidence that a person is under the influence of alcohol to the extent that normal faculties are impaired and, therefore, is guilty of DUI, regardless of the person’s actual degree of intoxication or impairment (s.316.1934 (3), F.S.). It is not necessary for the prosecutor in a DUI case to prove that the person’s driving ability was impaired by alcohol at the time of the arrest; it is necessary only to prove that the person’s blood or breath alcohol level was above the 0.08 threshold.
The 0.08 level only establishes a legal presumption of impairment. Some individuals would be considered impaired at a lower blood or breath alcohol level, while other individuals may have a greater tolerance and not be as impaired at a higher level. Conversely, the 0.08 level does not establish a legal limit for drinking. A person may be convicted of DUI with an alcohol level lower than 0.08 if a prosecutor can show that the person’s driving was impaired by alcohol, though proving impairment is more difficult than proving blood or breath alcohol level. The alcohol level threshold simply establishes a level above which most individuals’ driving would be considered to be impaired. The assumption is that any individual driving with that much alcohol in their blood or breath presents a danger to others.
By accepting and using a Florida driver license, a person agrees to submit to a chemical or physical test of their blood or breath alcohol level and a urine test for drugs and other controlled substances when arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (s.316.1932, F.S.). A person may refuse to take the tests; however, this will result in a one-year suspension of the person’s driver license for the first refusal or an 18-month suspension for subsequent refusals. These suspensions are in addition to any revocations that may be imposed by the court upon a DUI conviction. An individual who is unconscious or otherwise incapable of refusal is deemed not to have withdrawn consent. Non-residents and others who do not have to obtain Florida driver licenses are considered to have expressed consent to the tests by the act of driving in Florida.
Tests must be conducted according to procedures established by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. Blood samples for testing may be drawn only by licensed medical practitioners or laboratory technicians. Individuals who are tested by the police may, at their own expense, have an independent test conducted.
Drivers in crashes which result in death or serious bodily injury to a human being may be compelled by the investigating officer to submit to tests for alcoholic content and the presence of chemical or controlled substances. In this case, the law enforcement officer is permitted to use reasonable force, if necessary, to obtain a sample for testing (s.316.1933, F.S.).
0.02% Threshold For Persons Under 21
Due to the increasing numbers of alcohol-related crashes involving drivers under the age of 21, additional restrictions have been imposed (Chapter 96-272, Laws of Florida). Effective January 1, 1997, anyone under 21 years of age with an alcohol level of 0.02 or above found driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle will lose their driving privilege for six months, or one year for a second or subsequent alcohol-related suspension. Refusing to be tested results in a license suspension of one year, or 18 months for a second or subsequent refusal.
A violation of this section is not a criminal offense, but will result in an administrative suspension administered by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. When a driver under 21 years of age receives an administrative roadside suspension for an alcohol level of 0.02 or above, the driver’s license is confiscated and a ten-day temporary driving permit is issued along with the notice of suspension. The driver then has ten days to request either a formal or an informal review by the Division of Driver Licenses.
The penalty for a first DUI conviction is:
- A fine from $500 to $1,000,
- Imprisonment for up to six months,
- Monthly reporting probation for a period not exceeding one year and with a requirement for a minimum of 50 hours of community service work (the total period of imprisonment plus probation may not exceed one year).
- Completion of an approved substance abuse course specified by the court. A referral to substance abuse treatment may be required in some cases.
- Revocation of the driver license for at least 180 days and up to one year.
- If the offender has an alcohol level of 0.20 or greater, the possible fine is doubled to between $1,000 and $2,000 and the imprisonment increased to a period of up to nine months.Subsequent DUI convictions result in increased fines and prison terms. In addition, for a second conviction within five years, the court is required to sentence the violator to at least ten days in jail and revoke the offender’s driver license for at least five years. For a third conviction within ten years of the first, the required sentence is at least ten years. A person who is convicted of a fourth and subsequent DUI may be charged with a third degree felony.
Multiple DUI felony convictions may subject the individual to the provisions of the habitual offender law (s.775.084, F.S.), resulting in a longer prison term.
If a DUI offender’s behavior results in injury to, or damage to the property of, another person, the offender may be found guilty of a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000. A DUI offender who causes serious bodily injury to another person may be found guilty of a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If the DUI offender’s actions cause the death of a human being, the offender may be found guilty of DUI manslaughter, a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
In the course of making an arrest for driving under the influence of alcohol, a law enforcement officer is authorized to suspend immediately the driver license of any individual who either refuses to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test or is tested and has a blood or breath alcohol level of 0.08 or greater. If the result of the test is not immediately available, the Division of Driver Licenses will suspend the license upon receiving notice that an arrest for DUI was made. When a driver receives a roadside suspension for DUI, the driver’s license is confiscated and a 30-day temporary driving permit is issued along with the notice of suspension for six months for the first offense and one year for subsequent offenses. The driver then has ten days to request either a formal or informal review by the Division of Driver Licenses.
Alchohol Possession And Open Container Laws
Florida Law prohibits the possession of open containers of alcoholic beverages by the driver and passengers of most motor vehicles.
An open container is defined as “any container that is immediately capable of being consumed from, or the seal of which has been broken”. Open containers must be carried in a locked glove compartment, locked trunk, or other locked non-passenger area of the vehicle. The driver of a vehicle with an open container anywhere else in the vehicle, yet not in the physical control of the container, is guilty of a non-criminal moving violation and subject to a fine. A passenger found in possession of an open container of alcohol is guilty of a non-moving violation, punishable by a fine.
According to Gainesville City Ordinance, it is unlawful for any person to consume or be in possession of any alcoholic beverage in an open container on any public street, sidewalk, or publicly owned parking facility in the city. The same holds for private property when the owner has not given consent to consume alcohol or have an open container on the property. It is also unlawful to consume or be in possession of any alcoholic beverage in the stands, stadium, or grounds of Florida Field on the University of Florida campus.
Florida Law prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from possessing an alcoholic beverage. Violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500 and/or sixty days in jail.
The use of cocaine
Cocaine is a central nervous system stimulant made from the leaves of the coca plant. Cocaine appears in several forms, including powder, free-base, crack or rock. Each is used differently and each use creates psychological and physical dangers for the user. Most people have heard of the powder form of cocaine. The powder is snorted or inhaled through the nose. The effects of the drug begin within a few minutes, peak within 15-20 minutes and disappear within an hour. The immediate effects of the drug are feelings of excitement and increased alertness. These feelings result from the drug’s effect on the brain and increased heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, and respiration.
Free-base is the next step in purification of cocaine. Free-base is made by combining powder cocaine with household chemicals to change and purify the drug. Free-base can be smoked or mixed with liquid and injected, and produces a high similar to powder cocaine in only 10-15 seconds. The effects last no longer than 20 minutes.
Crack or rock is a solidified form of free-bases made without common or household chemicals, and is seen on the street as small pieces or slivers resembling soap. It is a more purified form of cocaine, which is ingested by smoking, and affects the body more quickly. Its effects last only 5-10 minutes, it is more addictive than any of the other forms of cocaine.
The dangers of cocaine use vary with the amount, form, method of ingestion and the individual. Cocaine use can cause restlessness, irritability, anxiety and sleeplessness, which contributes to post-use depression. Physically, the user can experience increased blood pressure, heart rate, body temperature and respiration rate. These factors can cause stroke, heart attack, and respiratory failure from over-stimulation. Cocaine use creates psychological and physical dependence. In order to avoid the depression and fatigue that the drug can create, the user needs to take more of the drug. The more pure the form, the more quickly this dependence occurs. For example, use of crack can create dependency after only one use. A person with a cocaine problem goes through a process of denying there is a problem. It is especially important for cocaine users to seek help quickly.
Possession of this drug is a felony. Use of any drug to facilitate another crime increases the severity of the penalty for the underlying crime. The potential for addiction of this type of drug is high. Before you use or continue to use cocaine get the facts.
Questions to consider if you think you have a problem
1. Are you afraid to stop using the drug for fear your academic work will suffer?
2. Do you use the drug continuously until your supply is exhausted?
3. Do you have three or more of the following symptoms as a result of your drug use? Sleeplessness, headaches, difficulty with breathing or swallowing, irregular heartbeats or chest pain?
4. Do you have three or more of the following psychological symptoms? Jitters, anxiety, depression, panic, irritability, paranoia, lack of concentration, hallucinations, repetitious acts?
5. Have you skipped school or missed work because of crack or cocaine?
6. Have you borrowed money, used savings or committed crimes to get money to buy crack/cocaine?
If you answered yes to three or more of the above questions, or know someone who could, seek professional assistance. You can obtain help from the following on and off campus resources:
Campus Alcohol and Drug Resource Center 392-1161 ext.428
University Counseling Center 392-1575
Student Mental Health Services 392-1171
Office for Student Services 392-1261
National Hotline 1-800-COCAINE
The National Drug Recovery Center Locator
The use of rohypnol
Rohypnol is quickly becoming the new “love drug” being abused in Florida and around the country. “Roofies” “roche”, “R-2”, “rib” and “rope” are some of the names given to this drug on the street.
According to a University of Florida drug hotline, “Roofies” are often combined with alcohol, marijuana, or cocaine to produce a rapid and very dramatic “high”. Even when used by itself, users can appear extremely intoxicated, with slurred speech, no coordination, swaying, and blood-shot eyes…with no odor of alcohol. The drug has been added to punch and other drinks at fraternity parties and college social gatherings, where it is reportedly given to female party participants in hopes of lowered inhibitions and facilitating potential sexual conquest. Police departments in several parts of the country say that after ingestion of “Roofies” that young women have reported waking up with no clothes on, finding themselves in unfamiliar surroundings with unfamiliar people, or having actually been sexually assaulted while under the influence of the drug.
If you suspect you have been drugged contact the police, a hospital or a friend and seek help immediately.
What Is Rohypnol?
A benzodiazepine, or sedative, with approximately ten-times the potency of diazepam (Valium).
Most tablets in the United States are imported illegally from Mexico.
The tablets manufactured in Mexico are round, white and slightly smaller than an aspirin. The manufacturer’s marking is similar to those found those found on Rivotril and Valium.
Is It Legal?
Rohypnol cannot be prescribed or sold legally in the U. S. or Canada, however, it can be brought into both countries in limited amounts if prescribed by a foreign physician. It cannot be prescribed, sold, or legally imported into the U.S. (importation banned in March 1996).
In March 1995, this drug became the first benzodiazepine to be moved to Schedule III by the World Health Organization, requiring more thorough record keeping on its distribution.
Possession is illegal in Florida.
Why The Concern?
The first reports of Rohypnol abuse in the U.S. were in 1993 in southern Florida.
Reports indicate Rohypnol use is growing among high school students in the South, where it is seen as a cheap high – $.50 to $3.00 a pill. Because it is sold in a bubble pack, it can be mistaken for a legal (safe) substance. Continued use can result in addiction.
Adverse effects can include loss of memory, impaired judgement, dizziness, and prolonged periods of blackout. Although a sedative, Rohypnol can induce aggressive behavior.
This drug has been associated with date rape. Several arrests have been made in cases where it has allegedly been added to a woman’s drink without her knowledge, for the purpose of reducing resistance. It is odorless, colorless and tasteless when added to either alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages.
Possession of this drug is a felony. Use of any drug to facilitate another crime increases the severity of the penalty for the underlying crime. The potential for addiction of this type of drug is high. Before you use or continue to use Rohypnol get the facts.